Posted by: Christine Johnson | June 2, 2006

Who is Worthy of the Lamb?

A Catholic Mom in Hawaii has posted an article that was sent from then-Cardinal Ratzinger to Cardinal McCarrick and made public in July 2004. It details who is worthy to receive the Eucharist – the Blessed Sacrament, Body, Blood, Soul and Divinity of our Lord, Jesus Christ.

I’ll give you the first point (out of six), but I highly recommend reading the rest. It details the mortal sin of abortion and how that affects our ability to receive Communion worthily.

1. Presenting oneself to receive Holy Communion should be a conscious decision, based on a reasoned judgement regarding one’s worthiness to do so, according to the Church’s objective criteria, asking such questions as: “Am I in full communion with the Catholic Church? Am I guilty of grave sin? Have I incurred a penalty (e.g. excommunication, interdict) that forbids me to receive Holy Communion? Have I prepared myself by fasting for at least an hour?” The practice of indiscriminately presenting oneself to receive Holy Communion, merely as a consequence of being present at Mass, is an abuse that must be corrected (cf. Instruction “Redemptionis Sacramentum,” nos. 81, 83).

Categories

