Posted by: Christine Johnson | July 19, 2006

Stephen Colbert on Embryo Research: Interview


Last night, on The Colbert Report, Stephen interviews Lee Silver, author of Challenging Nature: The Clash of Science and Spirituality at the New Frontiers of Life. Two questions in this interview that I always wanted to ask these mad scientists on cloning and ESCR:

1) Just how often does that happen, that people breathe in embryos? (When told that if he sneezed into a petri dish of embryos, Colbert would wind up being a cannabal because he’d breathe in some of the embryos – they are invisible to the naked eye and they are very light.)

2) So if I let my arm go for a while, didn’t wash it, you’re saying I’d have babies growing on my arm? That’s the argument you’re making. (When told that a skin cell lost while showering is exactly the same as an embryo.)

Fantastic!

So hit the link above and look for Lee Silver.

I have to say, by the way, that Stephen Colbert packs quite a bit of Catholicism into that show. Last night (which will be repeated today at 2:00 p.m. and 8:30 p.m. Eastern Time) he managed to work in that the embryos have souls and that religion is not opposed to science.

Oh, and be forewarned…that scientist has the MOST condescending tone to his voice. He sounds very much like he’s talking to a five year old (though I don’t talk to my five year old with a tone of voice like that). And it gets progressively worse throughout the show. And at his site (linked at the book title), he’s got a picture of these beautiful girls who are conjoined twins (linked to the Wikipedia article from where he snagged the picture) with the caption “One Body/Two Souls?” I find that completely disgusting, as though he sees these girls as nothing but things. Of course, when you don’t believe in the soul of Man, you see all Men as mere things. And that is how you can rationalize cloning and embryo farms.

Stephen Colbert is my new hero. You know, cuz he’s funny and stuff. And also because he asks questions I actually want to hear asked!

[picture credit]

UPDATE: American Papist had the video up, so I decided to embed it here, in case you missed it or don’t want to search for it.

Categories

