Posted by: Christine Johnson | July 29, 2006

Five Positive Things Meme

Confessions of a Hot Carmel Sundae has a new meme up that is good to do, as opposed to the worthless ones where you pass on your shirt color that you are wearing right now. (Guilty.)

Five things I love about my spouse:

1. He has a depth of faith that continually amazes me, especially when I think back on him calling himself an atheist less than 15 years ago.
2. He is one of the most humble men I know.
3. He is also one of the funniest people I know.
4. He is a fantastic father. When we were dating, I saw him get down on the floor with his ten month old nephew, who is deaf, and make silly faces at him. I knew right then that he would be an amazing Daddy.
5. He is looks out for me all the time. For instance, tonight (Friday), we were going to meet someone for dinner. He knows that I’ve been keeping meatless Fridays now (though I don’t hold him to it), and he made sure to ask if we could go somewhere that serves meatless meals. The other couple isn’t even Catholic.

Five things I love about other family members:

1. My parents gave me a wonderful example of a good marriage.
2. My children have a very deep faith in God and always surprise me with it.
3. My father never let me just skip out on Mass at home. I always went with the rest of the family.
4. My sister is the kind of person who is wonderful at caring for people in trouble. She is very giving.
5. My mother-in-law is wonderful to me, and she treats me like a daughter. She is a great example to me in accepting people as they are.

Five things I’m proud of in people I love:

1. Big Girl and Little Girl are two of the best-behaved children I know. They can entertain each other (and themselves) for hours at a time, even when we aren’t at our own house.
2. Big Girl has amazing athletic abilities. She is a better athlete than some of the boys on her teams.
3. Little Girl is very musical, and is a very natural dancer. I only hope I can afford the ballet lessons at a real dance school!
4. Hubby looks out for our family in ways that surprise me, and he just does it. No complaints, no attention-grabbing – just providing and protecting.
5. Hubby’s conversion was so deep that it blows me away. How many other people become Catholic and do apologetics talks two months later? (Okay, how many people who aren’t Scott Hahn types do?)

Five happy memories I have about people I love:

1. All of the camping trips my family took while I was growing up. It’s why we have a pop up trailer.
2. When my husband and I were “just friends” (meaning he wished I would break up with my loser boyfriend and I had no clue), we were at his townhouse, listening to music. Lying on the floor side-by-side, he asked me why I wanted to be a teacher. When I finished telling him all my reasons, he sighed, “I want you to teach my children.” “Well, you’ll have to live close by me so you’re in the same district I teach in,” I answered. “I will,” he said (without thinking). “I’m going to live the next pillow over.” While at the time, there was a VERY awkward silence following that, it makes me feel warm and fuzzy to think back on it and look at our life now, when I homeschool his children, who are also my own.
3. The day that Little Girl started reading, using the Seton pre-primer, and we called everyone in the family, one after another, so that she could read a story that consisted of the words “David” and “oh.”
4. Celebrating special family events by driving from Toms River to Cherry Hill, NJ, so we could eat at Benihana’s restaurant.
5. Seeing the look on my husband’s face when he saw me in my wedding dress just before I walked down the aisle.

Five things I want to thank God for:

1. All of the above. (I couldn’t improve on that, Christina!)
2. That my girls are healthy and happy.
3. The Catholic Church, and that I was raised in it.
4. The Sacraments, especially Confession.
5. His love for me, as undeserving as I am.

I’ll tag the same people as Christina did: all the wives out there.

Categories

