Posted by: Christine Johnson | August 7, 2006

The Now-Famous Book Meme

A Catholic Mom in Hawaii tagged me for the book meme. Here are my answers:

1. ONE BOOK THAT CHANGED YOUR LIFE: The Greatest Salesman in the World by Og Mandino is about the only thing I can come up with. His books did a lot for me at a point in my life where I had little self-respect.

2. ONE BOOK THAT YOU’VE READ MORE THAN ONCE: Do children’s books count? I’m re-reading Uncle Tom’s Cabin right now. How about we use that one?

3. ONE BOOK YOU’D WANT ON A DESERT ISLAND: Probably the Bible. But, like Esther, I’d rather get a huge stack of books. Tons of them.

4. ONE BOOK THAT MADE YOU LAUGH: Eats, Shoots & Leaves by Lynn Truss. I was happy to know that I’m not the only one who has adverse physical reactions to really bad grammar and punctuation. Oh, and the five-book trilogy of Hitchhiker’s Guide by Douglas Adams. (Until the end of the fifth book. Only an atheist could write an ending like that.)

5. ONE BOOK THAT MADE YOU CRY: One? Seriously? Come on…I’ve cried at McDonald’s commercials! How about The Notebook, by Nicholas Sparks?

6. ONE BOOK THAT YOU WISH HAD BEEN WRITTEN: Yeah, I Made That Whole Story Up, by Dan Rather

7. ONE BOOK THAT YOU WISH HAD NEVER BEEN WRITTEN: The Communist Manifesto. If I had to pick another, perhaps Mein Kampf.

8. ONE BOOK YOU’RE CURRENTLY READING: Where We Got the Bible, though I’m reading three other books that I can think of off the top of my head.

9. ONE BOOK YOU’VE BEEN MEANING TO READ: Dark Night of the Soul and Dante’s Inferno. Okay, that’s two, but they are both in my house and unread as of yet.

10. TAG FIVE OTHERS: Let’s give Hubby something to blog about, and I’ll tag Gerald, the Pillow Fight, SFO Mom, and Laura. My apologies to anyone who has been tagged. I was out of commission while I was at the funeral last week. Leave a message in the com boxes when you’ve done your homework.

Categories

