Posted by: Christine Johnson | November 21, 2006

Wikimemia

I saw this and thought it looked like fun. Hat tip to Paul, Just This Guy, You Know?

1) Go to Wikipedia

2) In the search box, type your birth month and day but not the year.

3) List three events that happened on your birthday

4) List two important birthdays and one death

5) One holiday or observance (if any)

So here are mine, for April 29.

Three events:

1. 1429Joan of Arc arrives to relieve the Siege of Orléans.

2. 1862American Civil War: New Orleans falls to Union forces under Admiral David Farragut. (I found that interesting because I went to school near a military academy named for Admiral Farragut. Their football team played my public school’s football team every year, and we had a very cruel name for them. Use your imagination.)

3. 1945 – Holocaust: The Dachau concentration camp is liberated by United States troops.

Birthdays:

1. 1918George Allen, American football player and coach (d. 1990) (No, not my senator – his father! Might not be important, but I thought it was interesting at least.)

2. 1863William Randolph Hearst, American publisher (d. 1951) (Rosebud!)

Death:

(Hey, who else would I pick?)

1380Catherine of Siena, Italian saint (b. 1347)

Holiday or observance:

International Dance Day. How about that?

Incidentally, I share a birthday with a slew of celebrities. I just learned that I shared a birthday with Dale Earnhardt, and I already knew that I shared one with Michelle Pfiefer, Jerry Seinfeld, Andrew Agassi, and Uma Thurman.

If you want to be tagged, consider yourself so and leave a link in the com boxes.

Categories

