Posted by: Christine Johnson | January 4, 2007

stupid warm weather

It’s been in the 60’s lately. Or in the mid-to-upper 50’s. And so now all my bulbs think it’s Spring.

I have hundreds of bulbs pushing up. Crocuses, hyacinths, daffodils, tulips, irises. I am pretty sure that the Asian lilies are staying down a bit (they bloom later in the spring). But in the meantime, I am seriously worried that the weather will turn back to NORMAL winter weather (averages this time of year are usually in the mid 40’s, not the upper 50’s and mid 60’s), and then all my plants will die because they shot up too soon.

I’m thinking a good layer of mulch might help, but, then again, I looked at the ten-day forecast and see more of the same. ONE day below 50, the rest all in the mid to upper 50’s and lower 60’s.

What’s a girl to do??

Categories

