Posted by: Christine Johnson | March 14, 2007

Open for Business

I noticed that the daffodil opened today, and there are probably a dozen more that will in the next day or two.

Spring is, by far, my favorite time of year. The renewal of life is so wonderful to witness. When we lived in Florida, Hubby’s allergies were so awful and there was so little difference between Winter and Spring that he couldn’t see why it was my favorite season. The tree pollen is still considered to be Yellow Death Dust here (and because we live in a valley, his allergies can actually be more intense than they were in Florida), but Hubby can now see why I love Spring so much. I guess he’d forgotten the joy of watching nature, which has been slumbering all winter, awakening to new life. Watching this unfold as Lent progresses really reminds me of the new life we have in Christ Jesus. Maybe we will bloom slowly, too, as we are purified in Purgatory.

Enough philosophy. Let’s have a look at the daffodils.




This last picture is of the irises, which are sprouting up very quickly, too. I haven’t taken a picture of them yet, but my rose bushes are also sporting some new growth. I have to figure out when I can prune them back, though. We might still get a frost over the weekend when that cold front hits Virginia.

Categories

