Posted by: Christine Johnson | March 14, 2007

Six Weird Things Meme

I was tagged by Sunny over at Faith and Country for this meme. My tags are at the end.

People who get tagged need to write a blog entry of their own 6 weird things as well as state this rule clearly! In the end, you need to choose 3 people to be tagged and list their names. Don’t forget to leave a comment on their blog that says they have been tagged and to tell them to read your blog.

  1. I have two different kinds of earlobes. Remember in biology class when you learned about dominant and recessive genes, and the teacher had you look at your friends’ ears to see which they had (attached or unattached)? Well, I had two friends, one on each side of me, looking at my earlobes. One said I had unattached, the other, attached. They argued for a few seconds, switched sides, and proceeded to call me a mutant. I am still friends with both of them. (Hi Denise and Sarah!)
  2. Despite my tendancy to talk incessantly, I am actually kind of shy. I have worked very hard over the years to get more comfortable talking to people I don’t know well, and that is where the blabbermouth stuff tends to come in (out of nervousness, usually). I can deal better with social situations if I have someone with me with whom I am VERY comfortable (usually Hubby), but if I were alone at a party with a ton of people I didn’t know, I would most likely (a) wonder why I am there if I don’t know anyone, and (b) stand in a corner and nervously wonder how soon I can go home and be alone again. Big social gatherings (aside from with family) also drain me completely. My first two years at our homeschool co-op, I would desperately want to take a nap afterwards. Being a social butterfly makes me tired.
  3. I am not good with … confrontations. Like George McFly, I’d rather not have a face-to-face confrontation. Or one on the phone. Come to think of it, if I argue with someone online, I tend to shake after I am done. This makes for an interesting situation when I am called to stand up for myself, which I don’t do all the time. Of course, a big exception to this rule is when my babies are being hurt somehow. I will instantly become Mama Bear and rip into whoever is bothering my Little Cubs. Later, when I’m finished and alone, I shake and hypervenilate. But in the moment, I am awesome.
  4. I am a horrible liar. This is mainly because I don’t get much practice with lying. (Good, right? I shouldn’t practice lying.) I will tell the truth when asked questions, even if I’m going to get into trouble over it. For example, I was pulled over for speeding when I was in college. I was going 65 in a 55 zone. I was SHAKING when the police officer came up to my window and asked, “Did you know you were doing 65 in the 55 zone?” Now, looking back, I think he felt sorry for me (I was kind of keeping with traffic, I think it was obvious how scared I was, etc.). He might have been giving me an opportunity to say, “Really? No, I didn’t know.” But, you see, I did know. I had set my cruise control for that speed because I was in a rush to get home to my boyfriend, who had the afternoon off! So I answered, “Um. Yes. I’m sorry.” I got a ticket. I went to traffic school. My insurance went up a bit, much to my parents’ chagrin. (I was still on their policy.)
  5. I am so frightened of spiders and bugs of any kind that I cannot even touch a picture of them without getting some serious heebie-jeebies. Anything with more than four legs is not my friend, and that includes butterflies and ladybugs.
  6. I have tastes that are not-so-feminine in some areas. For example, the only reason Hubby has such a love for sports is because I got him hooked. (A good thing about this is that he had no loyalties until after we started dating, so I influenced his sports team choices. Hence, he is a Yankees fan, too.) Another example is in movies. I like romantic comedies, but for the most part, chick flicks don’t appeal to me that much. For Mother’s Day, I asked for Patton as my present. (I got it a month late because a new, two-disc version was coming out.) One of my favorite movies of all time is Blazing Saddles. (“What in the wide, wide world of sports is a-goin’ on here!? I sent you out here to get some track laid, not jump around like a bunch of Kansas City f*****s!”) I like movies like Gladiator, too. Maybe it’s the idea of watching strong men act strong. Who knows? But I have surprised some women with my love of sports and my dislike of chick flicks.

Who to tag??? How about Julie, Barb, and Jay?

Categories

