Posted by: Christine Johnson | June 2, 2007

A Carpenter’s Meme

It’s the 4 x 2 Meme! Of course, I think this meme was invented by a woman. A man would have called it a 2 x 4 Meme. 😉

Amy tagged me for it (between knitting and throwing that second sock across the room, I think), and I’m going to knock it out before I rush upstairs to make PB&J sandwiches for the girls for dinner.

Rules:

You have to share four things that were new to you in the past four years. Four things you learned or experienced or explored for the first time in the past four years. New house, new school, new hobby, new spouse, new baby, whatever. Then you have to say four things you want to try new in the next four years.

Okay, my new four things in the past four years.

1. I moved away from my family. I’d never lived any farther than 100 miles from them (and that was when I was in college, and I went home every weekend) when Hubby got a promotion and transfer. We moved from the Orlando area and a house within a few blocks of my parents and around five miles from my sister to Southwest Virginia. 700 miles away. When we had to fill out “closest relatives” on emergency forms, I asked the YMCA if they really wanted that or did they want someone in town they could call. “Relatives.” Are you sure? “Yes. Relatives only.” Okay, so if there is an emergency at the YMCA and they can’t get a hold of Hubby, they’ll call my mother in Florida. What. Ever.

2. I started a blog. I had just started to be fascinated by it, and The Corner had me hooked during the ’04 elections. I started blogging then. (Holy mackerel! I’m coming up on THREE YEARS in September!) One of my favorite things I blogged about as it was happening was the election of Pope Benedict XVI. Once I knew it was him, I posted something and then knelt expectantly in front of the television with the girls. “Kneel here QUICK so the pope can bless you!!!” They both remember it to this day. I hope they always will.

3. I joined a homeschool co-op. I was in one, kind of, in Florida (Sacred Heart of Jesus Home Educators!), but aside from feast day parties and First Fridays (which I am terrible about getting to!), they didn’t do a lot with the kids. But the one I’m in now does First Fridays AND has classes twice a month for the kids. The year that just ended up in May had Big Girl in sewing (she made a purse), science, and apologetics. Little Girl had art, PE, and story time with acting out the stories and arts and crafts related to whatever they read and acted out. I have taught classes on sign language, SAT Prep, and apologetics (middle school kids). This might not seem like a lot, but I am a real homebody and can be painfully shy around new people. It is not an exaggeration to say that it was darn near painful to go to this co-op when we moved here. But we’ve found some wonderful friends there as well as some terrific families. (And if I hadn’t moved away from my family, I don’t think I would be this active outside the home – seriously.)

4. I joined Weight Watchers and lost more than 60 pounds. Granted, I have gained back 20, but I just re-upped with WW yesterday. That whole story is here, in case you’ve never read it. That “After” pictures used to be my profile picture until I was getting links on sites because someone thought I was a “MILF.” It’s okay for Hubby to say it, but I’d rather not be an occasion of sin, you know? So I only occasionally post a link to that story now. BTW, losing that weight was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done – harder than I thought college was. And I didn’t do it for anyone else, either. Only for me. ‘Cuz I was sick of how I looked, and I was depressed. Being healthier and living longer is just a bonus. 🙂

Four things I’d like to try in the next four years:

1. Go to the Grand Canyon. This keeps getting pushed down the list for us because we want to spend more time with our extended families, but it’s getting closer. I can’t wait to see it in person. I’m sure I’ll cry like a baby.

2. See the Black Hills of South Dakota. Hubby and I are thinking of getting a couple of timeshare units on exchange and then getting his mother and grandparents to come along. They can drive there (six to seven hours for them), then we can fly into Rapid City. Again, I expect to cry rivers of tears at the sheer beauty.

3. Visit the Vatican. This is not as likely to happen in the next four years, though. But I’ve dreamt of going there since I learned that was where the pope lived. I must have been in Kindergarten when I found out, and I have been wanting to go ever since. While we are there, I’d really like to go to a papal audience. (If I can add a REALLY huge dream, it would be to MEET the pope, but that’s a bit big, doncha think?)

4. Adopt a child. Hubby and I would really like to do this. How I wish we could have more children! I wish things weren’t so bad for me to be pregnant. We would SO love to have more children. But adoption is something we can definitely do in the future. And this is much more likely than #3 on this list. *sigh*

I suppose tagging four people would go with this meme’s theme of four, but I am not sure who hasn’t done this. When I got back from vacation, I just deleted the 1,000 plus posts on Bloglines instead of trying to wade through them. So if you feel compelled, then go for it. Just be nice and leave a link in the com boxes. 🙂

Categories

