Posted by: Christine Johnson | August 8, 2007

Thinking Blogger

Sunny tagged me as a thinking blogger. And, believe it or not, so did Amy! (Boy, have I got them fooled!) 😉

Actually, it’s for a Blogger Reflection Award. So I’ll tag five more bloggers who have caused me to reflect on the important things in life. The exact rules on the nomination are thus:

Blogger Reflection Award: This award should make an individual reflect upon five bloggers who have been an encouragement, a source of love, impacted you in some way, and who have provided a Godly example. In other words, five dear bloggers whom, when you reflect upon them, you are filled with a sense of pride and joy. . .of knowing them and being blessed by them.

I’m rather touched that anyone sees me as one who fulfills those requirements. Thank you, ladies, for the nomination.

Who inspires me in such a way? Let’s see…

1. Julie D. of Happy Catholic, for one. Her blog is a great source for inspiration, but she isn’t always as serious as she is when she posts her daily intentions. (Did you know she keeps an archive of them, too?) Julie is definitely not one who limits herself to the heavy lifting of theology. She’s always got excellent movie reviews and television reviews, as well. Oh, and her sense of humor is just great, too. If I make it to Dallas one day, I’ll try to look her up. Then we’ll all show up on her doorstep for dinner. 😉

2. Barb, the SFO Mom is another excellent blogger. I love her reflections on faith, family, and life in general. Her labeling of her children (Big Brother, Middle Sister, and Little Brother) was helpful to me when I was trying to decide how to refer to my own children on the blog. Her vignettes of her family’s life are some of my favorite posts to read, too.

3. Kathy Jo, headmistress of the Barefoot Academy for Wayward Boys is another of my favorite blogs to read. Her blogging on her homeschool help me often when I am trying to break out of the constraints I seem to have in my head when it comes to educating my own children. (You wouldn’t believe how much of a problem my degree in education can be!) She, too, has a plethora of stories about her boys – including her husband – that leave me giggling for a long time after reading them. But really, I go for the homeschooling posts. Seriously! I have several saved on my Bloglines account so I can use them to find more information on subjects that are coming up in our curriculum!

4. Jay over at Pro Ecclesia, Pro Famlia, Pro Civitate is one of the other great bloggers out there. (Hey, this is not a ladies’ club, you know.) Just as his blog title suggests, his priorities are Church (i.e. God), family, and then country. A very good order to have, you know. His is one of the first blogs where I read about Catholics Against Rudy. It’s good to know that when I read his blog, I know Jay isn’t a Republican first and a Catholic second. None of us should be, you know.

5. And, finally, I give you Red Neck Woman, who runs Postscripts from the Catholic Spitfire Grill. If it’s thoughtful blogging you are looking for, this woman’s got it going on. (Is that hopelessly un-hip to say now? Probably.) But it’s true. She might be a new convert to the Church, but her apologetics absolutely ROCK! And, as is usual for me with converts to the Faith, I find myself learning a great deal from her posts, especially when it comes to being able to explain why we Catholics do the things we do. Take, for example, her excellent post on prayer to the saints. Or her in-depth look at how our devotion to Mary can be justified through Scripture, especially the Old Testament. Heck, just pick any one of her posts listed under ONE Holy Catholic and Apostolic, and you’re sure to get a gem, not to mention a fantastic explanation of Catholic doctrines.

6. I’m sure I could go on and on (just look at the blogroll off to the side), but I do have only one more blogger to add, and I like to bring her up especially because she does not have an RSS feed, so she’s not on my blogroll at the sidebar. Please take a moment to see Ashli at S.I.C.L.E. Cell. I’ve highlighted her on my Domestic Vocation blog, but she is worth highlighting again. Ashli is a tireless advocate for Pro Life causes, not to mention someone who has, like me, battled hyperemesis gravidarum more than once. (We are even both participating in a research program that is aimed at trying to eliminate HG.) Oh, and she’s also now a published author!

Categories

