Posted by: Christine Johnson | February 5, 2008

Backrooms and Deals

McCain accuses Romney of whining when McCain instructs his delegates to vote Huckabee just to keep Romney from getting delegates in West Virginia.

Can someone explain to me why Romney ought not whine? Personally, I think it’s a bit on the dirty side to do what McCain’s people did on his behalf.

I mean, Romney would have won otherwise. The whole thing strikes me as very childish, like the student government election my senior year of high school. A lot of people were fed up with the clique-ish-ness of the SGA, so when it came time to elect the Senior Class President, the guy who had held the post for the previous three years was voted out in favor of a guy with no SGA experience based solely on the fact that he wasn’t the incumbent. Honestly, I’m not sure how it affected anything (SGA is limited in its power, anyway), but was Joe Rullo really the guy most qualified, and did Brad Billhimer deserve to be voted out just because we were sick of the same faces every year?*

So tell me again …

Just why am I supposed to be happy McCain might wind up being the nominee for the GOP? I keep forgetting.

*In the interest of full disclosure, I will admit that I voted for Joe. For the very reason stated. But I was 17 at the time, and I’d like to think that I’ve matured a little in the ensuing 20 years. Sometimes I wonder if anyone else has followed that pattern, or if they are still stuck in the childish mentality of “anyone is better than this guy.”

Please browse my eBay listings. Thank you.

Christine

Categories

