Posted by: Christine Johnson | February 27, 2008

Book Memories Meme

Esther tagged me for this meme (she’s got loooooong arms to tag me all the way from Hawaii!), and since I’ve got some time today, here I go! Short and sweet, I present …

Book Memories Meme

1. Do you associate reading particular books with the places you read them or events of the time you read them?

Yes. Even though I gave up reading Stephen King a long time ago, I still associate many of his titles with reading on the beach as a girl, specifically early mornings as Island Beach State Park. Any time I see certain older books of his, I can almost smell the hot dogs and french fries … oh, wait. Wrong beach. 😉 I can almost smell the ocean, the sunscreen, and the light sweaty scent that is a part of the beach in Summer.

I also strongly associate some books with some people. For example, my ex-boyfriend loved the Thomas Covenant series and had me reading them. I thought then (and still do now) that Covenant was very much like that boyfriend. When we broke up, I found I could no longer tolerate the books or the character. Soccer Dad loves the series, but I haven’t been able to bring myself to read them again.

2. Do you remember the books you read or do they fade quickly? Or do you remember some better than others? How about remembering details like character names, not just overall plot?

I do remember some books quite vividly. I have a real tendency to “fall into” books, as does everyone else in our family. For example, Soccer Dad got me into the Foundation series (Asimov), and I was so intrigued that I still remember certain details of the books. I can clearly remember parts of The Number of the Beast, which I sometimes wish I hadn’t sold on eBay. (I think I should have read it again before I did so.) It was such a fascinating book (not about eschatology at all, but about time travel and travel between dimentions). I loved the different worlds they landed in, and that book was partly responsible for me picking up The Wizard of Oz for the first time as an adult.

3. Have you ever forgotten you’ve read/own a book and borrowed/bought it again?

I don’t think so. I have rediscovered books on my shelves that I didn’t remember having, but I don’t think I’ve bought the same book twice. I might be wrong, though. I think Big Girl once commented that I’d bought a clearance-priced book that we already owned, but I can’t be sure. And with some classics (I’m still getting bunches from the library as they discard them for newer copies), I actually want more than one copy for when I use it for school. It’d be good to have a couple of Shakespeare collections, for example.

As far as tagging goes, I’ll leave an open tag for anyone who has a sentimental attachment to a library card.

Allow me to explain that a bit. I believe I still have my first library card, which was a small piece of tagboard with a metal number that made an imprint on the card in the pocket of the book. Before I graduated from high school, they’d switched to plastic. When I moved from New Jersey, I believe they were getting ready to make everything electronic and bar-coded. But I still have my first library card somewhere in my keepsakes. And I haven’t lived in Toms River since 1989.

So if you still have your first library card, you are tagged.

Please browse my eBay listings. Thank you.

Christine

Categories

