Posted by: Christine Johnson | March 7, 2008

The Dream is Still Not Realized

“I say to you today, my friends, that in spite of the difficulties and frustrations of the moment, I still have a dream. It is a dream deeply rooted in the American dream.

I have a dream that one day this nation will rise up and live out the true meaning of its creed: “We hold these truths to be self-evident: that all men are created equal.”

I have a dream that one day on the red hills of Georgia the sons of former slaves and the sons of former slave owners will be able to sit down together at a table of brotherhood.

I have a dream that one day even the state of Mississippi, a desert state, sweltering with the heat of injustice and oppression, will be transformed into an oasis of freedom and justice.

I have a dream that my four children will one day live in a nation where they will not be judged by the color of their skin but by the content of their character.

I have a dream today.

I have a dream that one day the state of Alabama, whose governor’s lips are presently dripping with the words of interposition and nullification, will be transformed into a situation where little black boys and black girls will be able to join hands with little white boys and white girls and walk together as sisters and brothers.”

This dream is still not realized, but not for the reasons you might think. Today, this dream goes unrealized because of the complete inability for many on the political Left to see past anyone’s skin color. Look at how they frame the election – or at the very least, the primaries. It’s all about whether you’ll vote for a black or for a woman. Never mind that no one seemed to latch on to the fact that a prominent black man was running for president on the Republican side. Nothing to see here!

But what is being said again and again is that it’s not the positions of the Democratic candidates, it’s all about genitalia and melanin. The big question they had to ask of black women in the south was, “Are you going to vote your sex or your race?”

Is that really all they see?

If this snippet from the Washington Post is any indication, it sure is. (Hat tip on Wa-Po article: The Corner)

Rep. Bobby Scott (D-Va., pictured left) asked all the Chertoff aides sitting behind him at the hearing to stand up. Men in ties and jackets, all of whom appeared to be Caucasian, stood up. Without comment, Scott moved on to ask Chertoff about another issue.

But Rep. Melvin Watt (D-N.C.) returned to the diversity question. ‘You brought 10 staff people with you,’ he said, ‘all white males. . . . But I hope you’ve got more diversity in your staff than is reflected here. Please reassure me that is the case.’

‘I think that is definitely the case,’ Chertoff said.

‘Okay,’ Watt said, and appeared to begin moving to another question.

But Chertoff continued: ‘I wouldn’t assume that the ethnic background of everybody behind me is self-evident.’

Watt (pictured left) replied: ‘I wouldn’t assume the ethnic background of everybody behind you is self-evident, but I think I know an African American when I see one. . . . If anyone wants to stand up and volunteer and tell me they are an African American, I hope they will do that right now.’

No one stood. Some in the audience began laughing.

‘If anybody is a female that’s sitting back there and wants to stand up and volunteer to tell me that,’ Watt continued, ‘I hope they will do that right now. And I want the record to show clearly that nobody stood up to volunteer in either one of those categories. ‘

So if you want to make that point and be cute about it,’ Watt said, ‘let me be explicit about it. . . . If we are going to do law enforcement in this country . . . we need to understand that there is an element of diversity in our country that is not represented here.’

… As it turns out, there was indeed diversity in the group, a DHS spokesman said yesterday. One of the men was of Peruvian heritage, he said, another was born in Russia of Jewish heritage and a third was a lawyer originally from Iran.

[Italics added by me. -ed.]

No, Dr. King’s dream is still not realized, because the only thing these men seem to be able to judge by is the color of people’s skin. (Even the Washington Post made a snide comment about left-handers and Episcopalians. Because, really, the only diversity that counts is blacks and women. That’s all. Nothing else.)

Oh, and can somone explain to me how having women and blacks makes automatically makes law-enforcement better? Please?

Resources:

Please browse my eBay listings. Thank you.

Christine

Categories

