Posted by: Christine Johnson | October 2, 2008

Catholics for Douglas 1860


The Curt Jester has a terrific endorsement up: Stephen Douglas should get the Catholic vote in 1860!  I’ll give you a sampling, but only if you promise to get over there and read the rest:

I am a Catholic and I am anti-slavery. I deplore slavery and have been an active part of the abolitionist movement. But this November of the year of Our Lord 1860 I am voting for Stephen A. Douglas.

Now I know my announcement will befuddle many Catholics who think that Abraham Lincoln is the only possible choice if you are truly as anti-slavery as I say I am. Some of my friends ask me how can I possibly support Senator Douglas when he was largely responsible for the Compromise of 1850 and supported the Dred Scott Supreme Court decision of 1857?

Though Senator Douglas does not regard a slaveholding society as one whit inferior to a free society I think he is the best choice to reduce slavery. …

Christine

Categories

