Posted by: Christine Johnson | October 6, 2008

Life Chain

Honestly, it’s a toss-up as to whether the Life Chain post is here or Domestic Vocation.  I pick here, and I’ll see if I can get Travel Man/Soccer Dad to post his thoughts at D.V. 

Our whole family went to the Life Chain this year, and it was overall a positive experience.  There are three kinds of reactions to us as we stand on the street-corners: support (waving, smiles, honking horns, thumbs-up), avoidance (can’t make eye contact with anyone – one woman I saw was a passenger who was stuck at the light; she put her hands up like blinders and leaned forward as if she couldn’t stand even seeing us in her peripheral vision), and anger.  Most everyone who went by and acknowledged us were all thumbs-up and waving happily.  One woman made the rounds, making several U-turns, to flip off everyone.  (Thankfully, she stopped when she went by us just before she got to the nine or so children behind Soccer Dad and me.)  She seemed very pleased with herself, this 60-some year-old woman.  It made us very sad, to tell the truth.  I wonder if she’s a victim, too.  Maybe she’s suffering because of a choice she made long ago.  I have long held the belief that most women (and men) who are so angry and nasty to Pro Lifers are suffering because of an abortion in their past.  They have to support it and defend it because if they don’t, what does that mean about them?  
Think about how hard it is to admit a wrong: “I was wrong about who left the wet towels on the good furniture in your room, kids.  I’m sorry.”  Wow.  I don’t know about you, but even THAT is hard for me.  It takes a lot of humility to admit you are wrong, and our society trains us that humility is weakness.
Now think about what it takes to admit what you did when you aborted your child.
That is the hardest kind of thing to admit.  
So when someone gets angry and flips us off (double-one-fingered-salute style, even), I can only feel sorry for her and pray for her.
But overall, the Life Chain was good.  I’ve got a few pictures that I’ll post later, once I sort out pictures of the girls’ faces.  (They wore their Pro Life T-Shirt Day shirts, which got lots of attention at the Life Chain and Catholic Youth Rally we attended afterwards.)  
When I post the pictures, I’ll update this post with a direct link to that post.

Christine

Categories

