Posted by: Christine Johnson | December 1, 2008

Sean Penn is Beyond Parody

I don’t usually read anything on the Huffington Post, but I might make an exception (if I’ve got the time) to read Sean Penn’s unintentionally hilarious pieces on his tours of Communist regimes.  From the Corner, we get a snippet of his more than 10,000 word, first of several parts entries.  

They ordered a bubbly water a piece, and it was on. I was Al Capone, m*****f***er, and they were a pair of Perrier pansy John Wayne’s. [edited by Soccer Mom]
Grammar aside (possessive versus plural), I had one thought:
Did Sean Penn just call John Wayne a pansy?  I mean, I think The Duke could still take him in a fight, and Wayne’s been dead since 1979!  John Wayne was one truly manly man, and Penn couldn’t even hold a candle to him.
*********************
“I haven’t lost my temper in 40 years; but, Pilgrim, you caused a lot of trouble this morning; might have got somebody killed; and somebody oughta belt you in the mouth. But I won’t. I won’t. The hell I won’t!” (He belts him in the mouth.) (To Leo Gordon in McLintock!)

(See that quote in action, about half-way through this trailer:)


Christine

Categories

