Posted by: Christine Johnson | January 24, 2009

I Thought We Were Friends!

http://services.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f8/1155201977

Ah, see, he thought he had these buddies.  But, what gets cut off at the end “I just want to say it one more time…” was this:

 “Alright, come on” he said, with obvious irritation in his voice. “We will be having a press conference at which time you can feel free to [ask] questions. Right now, I just wanted to say hello and introduce myself to you guys – that’s all I was trying to do.” 

The president was quickly saved by a cameraman in the room who called out: “I’d like to say it one more time: ‘Mr. President.’ ”


Oh, pluh-leeze!  
Get ready for the love-fest of softball questions.
By the way, I think he had no business fraternizing like that with the press corps, either.  Please correct me if I’m wrong, but President Bush didn’t pal around with the press, did he?  Isn’t it hard to remain objective if you’re buddy-buddy with the subject you’re reporting on?  
Sorry for the extra snark, but I just couldn’t resist with the picture below:
More pictures of the love-fest (complete with a “camera phone snapshot” moment!!) here.

Christine

Categories

