Posted by: Christine Johnson | March 19, 2009

My Letter to My Senators

I am writing to ask you to please vote against the Senate version of HR 1586 when it comes up for a vote. This bill acts as a bill of attainer. Such action is expressly prohibited by the United States Constitution, Article I, Section 9. The stimulus bill that you voted in favor of contained a clause that allowed AIG and other banks to leave bonuses in tact and to sign contracts with their employees. The Constitution also explicitly states that we, as citizens, have the right to enter into and keep contracts without government interference. (This can be found in Aritlce I, Section 10 of the Constitution.) This bill is also ex post facto, which is also unconstitutional. I hope that you will uphold the Constitution and vote against any kind of bill that retroactively punishes people who entered into legal contracts.

I was unable to write to the Rep. in the neighboring district via his online form because I’m not in his constituency.  Phooey.

Christine

Categories

