Posted by: Christine Johnson | August 10, 2009

Is this saying that the gov’t will not help with your hospice until you undergo THEIR end of life planning?

And what if I’ve got my end of life directives laid out, which I’ll do with my CATHOLIC lawyer and my husband?
Someone a bit better versed in the language of law please advise a bit here. This is my senator, and I’m fixin’ to write to him again about this one.

Senior Navigation and Planning Act – Health Care – Mark R. Warner: “A Requirement for Physicians to Provide Certain Medicare Beneficiaries with Information on Advance Directives and other Planning Tools: Beginning in 2014, Medicare reimbursements will not be provided until physicians provide individuals with information on advanced care planning for patients specifically diagnosed with end-stage cancer, renal disease, congestive heart failure, progressive neurodegenerative disorder, oxygen-dependent chronic pulmonary disease, or any other condition with a similar level of medical necessity determined appropriate by the Secretary of Health and Human Services (HHS).”

Again…I’m thinking this is very, very bad here. More at the link by the way.

Categories

