Posted by: Christine Johnson | March 22, 2010

The Anchoress: Right Again

Since the Democrats last night offered anecdote-after-anecdote in order to justify the passage of Obamacare, I guess anecdotes are now completely fair entries into the debate. Let me offer two of them.

A friend of mine listened to the healthcare vote while driving home from a hospital, where he’d spent the day with his 80 year-old father.

His father is a robust man, fully in his wits, who only retired “for good” about six months ago. He had retired from his job as a line man and became bored after a few years of retirement (“how many times can I clean out the gutters and fix the boat engine?”) so he had become a part-time flag man -the guy who flags traffic as roads are repaired- for about a decade.

Over the winter my friend’s father went for a routine physical, during which (and through subsequent testing) it was discovered he had lymphoma, and lung cancer. …

On a personal note, I was quite disgusted with the anecdote one Dem brought up from a young man, fresh out of college, whose reaction was, “Yay! Now I can stay on my parents’ plan. Now I won’t die.”
Die? Really? They didn’t mention any life-threatening illnesses (which they are sure to do), but only that he hadn’t found a job that offers health insurance.
Anyway, go and read the whole thing at the Anchoress’ blog in the post Obamacare & the Aging Population.

Categories

